BLOCKS Reference

Block Reference

G Suite

Share items from Google Drive

This BLOCK is currently in beta. The beta version will become unusable after the official version is released.

Some functions may not work properly during the beta. We appreciate your feedback regarding bugs or ways to improve MAGELLAN BLOCKS.

Overview

This BLOCK shares items (files or folders) from Google Drive with other users.

You can configure whether those you share with can edit, comment on, or simply view the item.

To target items that already exist in Google Drive (i.e. not created/saved using G Suite BLOCKS), you must share the items with the email address for your GCP service account. You can view the email address of your GCP service account in the “GCP service account” section of “Board settings”.

Properties

Property Explanation
BLOCK name Configure the name displayed on this BLOCK.
GCP service account Select the GCP service account to use with this BLOCK.
Item name

Designate the item to share.

Grantee type

Select who to share the item with.

  • Specific users: Share with users that you specify.
  • Group: Share with a Google group that you specify.
  • Domain: Share with a G Suite domain that you specify.
  • Anyone on the web: Allow anyone to access the item.
Role granted

Select the role to give to those you share the item with.

  • Editor: Can edit the item.
  • Commenter: Can view and comment on the item.
  • Reader: Can only view the item.
Email address

When Grantee type is set to Specific users or Group, designate the email address of those you want to share the item with.

  • Specific users: Designate the email address of a user.
  • Group: Designate the email address of a Google group.
Domain When Grantee type is set to Domain, designate a G Suite domain.
BLOCK memos Make notes about this BLOCK.
Allow file discovery

When Grantee type is set to Domain or Anyone on the web, designate whether or not to have the item appear in search results.

  • Check the box to allow others to find the item in search.
  • Remove the check to not allow others to find the item in search.